Offbeat’s Picks: Pomegranates

Only recently have I started eating fresh pomegranates. It began about a year ago when my husband, Colson, and I were looking for an inexpensive date night idea. We decided we’d make dinner together but we wanted to add a little twist to it: mystery ingredients. We decided we’d go to the grocery store and each pick 1 ingredient without the other person knowing what was chosen. When we got home, we’d reveal our choices and cook one meal incorporating both mystery ingredients.

Off we went on our grocery store excursion. I knew Colson was most likely going to choose a protein, so I looked around for a fruit or vegetable that I hadn’t really cooked with before. Then I saw them: pomegranates. I’ve always loved their tart and slightly sweet flavor, but I had never actually cooked with fresh ones myself. I decided to grab a couple, hoping they’d go with whatever mystery item my husband had picked out. We definitely found a winning combination. The pomegranate seeds paired perfectly with the Ahi tuna Colson chose and the sauteed kale we made from ingredients we already had at home.

Since then, I’ve loved buying pomegranates. The seeds add a pop of flavor as well as health benefits, such as helping to reduce cholesterol and lowering the risk for heart disease. This fall, why not add pomegranate to your food creations? If you need some inspiration, check out these pomegranate recipes and tips from AllRecipes.com.

Do you have a favorite pomegranate drink or dish recipe? We’d love to hear your ideas!

6 responses

Leave a Reply

