Downtown Color

We did a lot of exploring last weekend!  Having my sister and her husband here was so much fun.  We loved showing them around Lexington and introducing them to some of our favorite places.  On Saturday we went to Table Three Ten for brunch and spent the afternoon wandering the city, taking lots of pictures.

Table Three Ten is an awesome little restaurant with unique style and amazing eats.  Their desserts are out of this world and the weekend brunch was no disappointment.  We ordered the mini frittatas with smoked bacon and aged cheddar – rich and delicious!  Check out the blog of their head pastry chef for a good read and some great recipes.

After the food and a necessary Starbucks pit stop, we strolled down tucked away side streets and alleyways.  Lexington is full of charming little spots to photograph.

I love stumbling upon these perfect “sets”.  They feel like hidden gems no one was supposed to notice.  When you find one it almost feels like you’re trespassing – which sometimes we actually are, but we won’t get into that.

I wanted to play with bright colors for this look (surprise) so I started with bold blue and coral.  I’ve loved the Goldfield Skirt from Anthropologie ever since I saw it in the catalog, but the price was too high for me so I ended up missing it.  I eventually found it on eBay for a steal.  I swear I’ll still be finding excuses to wear this skirt in the dead of winter.

I saw the tights in a recent J.Crew catalog and fell in love.  The color and weight are perfect for bringing some brightness and warmth into fall.  The weather around here still can’t make up its mind so I was lucky to get away with a light blouse for the day, but a cardigan and scarf would have been enough to fully equip me for a colder setting.

Which colors are you loving so far in fall fashion?

Outfit Credits
Top: Express
Skirt: Anthropologie – Goldfield Skirt (via eBay)
Tights: J.Crew
Belt: Anthropologie – It’s A Cinch Belt
Shoes: Anthropologie – Lissa Lace-Up Wedges

6 responses

  1. the outfit is great, and I just love the challenge of finding new spots for pictures in a city 🙂 as for colors, I’m into burgundy like everyone else, and fall after fall, brown and mustard and fox orange.

Leave a Reply

