Homemade Eggnog

Homemade Eggnog

Growing up, my mom always made eggnog around Christmas time. As kids, I remember going into the fridge to grab a snack, and then getting really excited when I saw the gallon jugs of milk replaced with gallons of homemade eggnog (non-alcoholic, of course).

Eggnog

Eggnog during the holidays is a must-have for me, so I thought I’d share the recipe that I grew up on. It’s rich, creamy, sweet and simple to make. If you want to adjust this recipe for adults, just add bourbon.

What drinks do you enjoy during the holidays?

Homemade Eggnog

4 eggs
1-2 quarts of milk (depending on how rich you want it)
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups of heavy cream, whipped
Bourbon (optional)
Ground nutmeg (for topping)

Beat the eggs. Add half of the milk. Cook over low heat until it comes just to a boil, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. Stir in the sweetened condensed milk and the vanilla. Refrigerate until cool.

Add the rest of the milk to your cooled eggnog mixture. Fold in the whipped cream (reserve some for topping). For the adult version, add bourbon to taste.

Pour into individual glasses and top with whipped cream and ground nutmeg. Serve and enjoy!

20 responses

  1. What a precious family tradition! Sarah, you have shared some wonderful, rich traditions given to you by your mother. I love reading about them (and seeing them)!

  2. Looks delish! Totally going to make this. Question though: for the whipping cream, is 1-1/2 cups of whipped cream (finished state), or 1-1/2 cups of cream, pre-whipping (thus, a larger quantity of, finished, whipped cream)? Wow, my phrasing is complique.

  3. Once you fold in the whipped cream this needs to be consumed right away? Or can it be stored in the fridge and if so for how long?
    Thanks

    • It doesn’t necessarily have to be consumed right away. I have some sitting in my fridge now with the whipped cream already folded in. However, I have noticed that the whipped cream tends to “deflate” a bit and separate when it’s folded in. I think it tastes best when you drink it soon after the whipped cream is folded in, but it’s not going to ruin the recipe if you don’t do it that way.

      As far as the expiration, I’m a “if it smells bad throw it out” kinda’ girl. But I’ve ready that 2-3 days is the normal storage range for homemade eggnog. True confession? Mine’s been in my fridge a little longer than that and it still tastes fine.

      I just read this article if you’re interested in more info: http://www.eatbydate.com/dairy/milk/how-long-does-egg-nog-last-shelf-life-expiration-date/

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

